Aside

Going abroad-France

We recently took a vacation, the longest vacation we’ve ever taken together. It was lovely. And it was simple. We went to Paris and the south of France. Going abroad does wonders for the soul. It’s renewed my love for travel and I wish I could live abroad in order to learn a language. The toughest part about visiting France was not having the ability to speak the language. And unsurprisingly, the French had little patience for few words I did know. It seemed as soon as I said a few French words like “Bonjour Madame”, they’d immediately start talking to me in English. It was frustrating, because I wanted to practice my French, but hey, I understand where they’re coming from.

I liked Paris more than the south. The south was muggy. Paris felt comfortable, urban, busy, anonymous. And it rained often while we were there. But it was a soft, gentle rain that only happened off and on. And I quite enjoyed it. There was so much we didn’t get to do, but we’ll save that for next time.

*The flight was really super comfortable. Probably aided by the anti-anxiety medication. I can’t believe how much of a difference ativan really makes.

