up at 4 a.m.

Woke up at 2:30 a.m. this morning.  spent some time surfing the internet reading latest news stories on the Christopher Dorner case.  Spent more time WILF-ing….wondered whether I should go back to sleep or not.

Checked out Design Mom, who always inspires me.  So I thought I’d write a blog post.  Of course, it took me fifteen minutes to find my account username and password, then realize I didn’t have the correct password.  Then another ten minutes to try and remember which email address was linked to it in order to reset my password.  After several tries, here I am.

So far this year has gotten off to a rocky start.  I caught the flu (despite the nose spray flu vaccine I’d gotten in November) for ten days.  Then we went on a pre-planned vacation just as I was getting better.  Then my partner caught my flu, and we’ve been playing catch-up on all the household duties, errands, vet visits, and trying to fit work in somehow.  Talk about your year not starting off as I had hoped.  (Except for the vacation–that went well without a hitch!).

The running was going super well for November and December, but got waylaid by the flu. So Wednesday night, a full month later, we went running for 30 minutes. Yay! I’m signed up for a 5K in March, and I’d like to finish strongly. Some day I’d like to run a half-marathon, but we’ll see. For now, I need running just to stay sane and healthy.

Yesterday and today are days I have “off”, but I’m so busy cleaning, running errands that it certainly doesn’t feel like a day off. However, I did get to sneak in a 90 minute nap. Zzzzzzzz. I LOVE naps.

One of my unofficial new year’s resolutions has been to write more. It’s hard for me since I’m a perfectionist. But I got some inspiration from Anne Lamott:

“You want to hear a small brown-paper-bag miracle? An idea for a new piece came to me the other day, and I hve worked on it for three days in a row now. And it is going SO badly that I think I must be doing something right. I am doing what Woody Allen claimed was 80% of life, before I turned on him–showing up. I’m keeping my butt in the chair. I’m scribbling things, one imperfect sentence at a time. Perfectionism is the voice of the oppressor! It will keep you discontent and whiney for your whole life, unless you fight back; and the way you fight back is to make MORE mistakes, and messes, more failings and flailings. Beckett sadi, Fail again; fail better.”

And so I go, awkwardly and imperfectly forward!

